Intro: The Lioness


“I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works.”  Psalm 139:14 (NKJV)

As a woman who once struggled with self-esteem and neglected to see the positive in my outward appearance as a teenager and young adult,  chapter four in the book, “Lioness Arising” by Lisa Bevere sang to my soul.  While always taking necessary measures to ensure that my outward appearance, from my highlighted hair to my pedicure toes, were in order and presentable, I failed to realize the fearful and wonderful parts of me were not in my reflection in the mirror.  No, rather, it was the spiritual reflection of who I am according to God’s Word that was fearful and wonderful.  This chapter, “The Sum of Fear and Wonder,” sheds light on this revelation.  While we take extra care by visiting the “cosmetic people” of the world for highlights, fashionable outfits, manicures and so forth; we must not neglect the necessary appointments with God to keep our spiritual condition up to and excelling par!

In this book, Lisa, compares the lioness to a woman, and in this particular chapter, she describes the lioness as stunning.  “Lionesses are strong and sleek.  They move with muscled purpose, aware of their existence and the survival of their young depends on a legacy of skill and strength.”  She continues by saying, “They are comfortable in their own skin.”  Wow.  That is a statement.  When I observe women, counsel with women and hear the stories of women, it becomes obvious, our gender struggles with being comfortable in our own skin.  It is as though we always doubt we are doing or saying the right thing, in the right amounts, and at the right time.  Sometimes we don’t react or we hesitate to say or do, because we fear what reaction we might receive in return.  We just aren’t comfortable in our own skin.

In my next three blogs, I want to look specifically at three phrases, Lisa shared and convey a message that God laid on my heart.

1) She moves with muscled purpose.

2) She is aware of her existence.

3) The survival of the young depends on a legacy of skill and strength.

My prayer is that these blogs will not just be something that we read, but something that awakens our purpose from simply existing to strategic planning and implementing.  Blessings, friends.

4 thoughts on “Intro: The Lioness

  1. Sounds like a wonderful book. I look forward to reading the next posts! How easy it is to forget that the mirror doesn’t reflect our true self. Thanks Michelle!

  2. Pingback: She moves with muscled purpose « Michelle Georgiana

  3. Pingback: She Is Aware… « Michelle Georgiana

  4. Pingback: Part 3:Legacy of Skills « Michelle Georgiana

Leave a Reply

