New Clothes!


I am not a television guru; actually, I just don’t like watching tv.  I would seriously cancel cable, if I could convince my husband and son that they could watch ESPN and all sports episodes on the web.  Anyhow, there is one show that I do like to sit and watch on a regular basis and that is The Biggest Loser.  The stories of the people who have gained weight to the point their health is at risk, their life is limited, because of their weight; let alone the weight of emotional baggage that they carry as well, touches my heart.  I watch this series from start to finish and it continues to amaze me season after season how they come to the “ranch” to lose weight, but truly find out their issue isn’t the food they were putting in, its the “WHY” they were eating.  I call this pattern “VOID STUFFERS.”

When the contestants on the show discover the “WHY” they are doing something and can slay that giant three letter word, then they are able to regain control.  Of course, the workout routines and regimented caloric intake is key to shedding the weight, but you can also see the change in the person’s mind, heart and work ethic when the light bulb turns on and they realize WHY they were doing what they were doing.

This past week on the show, was make over week!  The week when everyone gets the chance to have professional hairstylists, fashion designers, make up artists, etc. transform their appearance to flatter their new bodies.  I can’t even remember how many times I have heard the phrase “new bodies” while watching the show.  But every time those two words are mentioned, I feel this flutter in my stomach and a smile emerge.  If they are that excited about getting a new body here on this earth, what am I going to feel like when I am welcomed into heaven and clothed with an imperishable body?

“I declare to you, brothers and sisters, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable.  Listen, I tell you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed— in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed.  For the perishable must clothe itself with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality.”  I Corinthians 15:50-53

Our earthly bodies are perishable, which means they will decay; matter of fact its happening daily.  1 Corinthians tells us that we will be clothed with a new body that will be imperishable, which is defined as enduring forever.  I don’t know what these “new clothes” for our “new bodies” will look like.  But, I do know this simple truth in my heart, I am just as excited to find out about my imperishable body as the contestants were for their make over week in their newly transformed body through sweat and tears.

“For while we are in this tent, we groan and are burdened, because we do not wish to be unclothed but to be clothed instead with our heavenly dwelling, so that what is mortal may be swallowed up by life.” 2 Corinthians 5:4

One thought on “New Clothes!

Leave a Reply

