Clothed with Honor


“Then adorn yourself with glory and splendor and clothe yourself in honor and majesty…” Job 40:10

I like clothes.  I like to look at them, I like to buy them, and I like to wear them.  Having funds to always do that, well, that is a different story.  I am not sure how you like to shop, but when I have free reign to buy something, I am quite particular in what I purchase.  First, if I am going to spend money on something to wear, I tend to not buy something that is just “trendy,” you know – in for this year never to come back around for 20 years.  I am very selective in picking out clothes that will be around for a while, basics that you can dress up and accessorize.  Accessories can be found often and added to a wardrobe to give a fresh clean look.

There is one place, too, that we can try on clothes and keep them for a long time, they are those clothes that just do not go out of style.  That place, my friends, is the Bible.  On different occasions, the Bible talks about getting dressed.  For example, in Job 40:10 he tells us to clothe ourselves with honor.  In the book of Ephesians chapter 6, we should dress ourselves in the Armor of God.  Proverbs 31:22, “She is clothed in fine linen and purple.”  

Why then do I bring up clothing and the Bible?  I honestly can say, I cannot shake something that has been going through my mind and it is the word honor. God says to clothe ourselves in honor.  What is honor?  To honor is to regard something or someone with great respect.  I am wondering when I look through the households of America, the government, the movies, the schools, the neighborhoods, churches, even youth groups today if anyone really understands this word, honor?  It seems as though we have not been very good about clothing ourselves?

I reflect in my life and over the past ten years of marriage, how I have honored and dishonored my husband.  I cannot help but think that when I have chosen to be right over being submissive to my husband, how dishonoring that was to him.  The Bible is clear that as a wife, I am to respect my husband.  When I dishonor him, I am not being respectful. I have observed young ladies, single and married, and how we take so much time, practice and energy –  not to mention money – to look beautiful on the outside.  Yet, when our mouth opens, the ugliness pours out.  I am not just talking about “truck driver syndrome” as some may call it, you know,  the flying of curse words, which does stain our appearance.  (As a side note, gals, cursing is not attractive.  If it is a habit of yours, I suggest you squash it, it really doesn’t add charm or beauty or attractiveness.)  The ugliness I am referring to is the attitudes, the insults, the wrong choice of words, the eye rolling, the gossip and the list can go on and on.

You may say, I honor my husband.  I have conquered that.  I am able to submit to his decisions, despite not agreeing. I quit arguing with him.  However, that has not changed in other areas of your life.  When I am out with my hubby, for you it may be your significant other, they should not be so concerned or on edge about how you will conduct yourselves: What will set her off and what scene , strife or drama will she stir up today?  Moments of uneasiness and bouts of drama are all the more unattractive.  I know, it is as though I am stepping all over your freshly painted toes and I promise that we can paint them again, but this is something that we have just got to talk through gals.

No matter where I am, what I am doing, my husband should have complete confidence that I will not smudge, smear or bring dishonor to his household.  That I would chose words wisely, seek God first and practice the fruits of the Spirit (Galatians 5) in all my comings and goings.  When I choose to honor him in and out of our household, his love grows deeper and he can say, “I have a wife of noble character, she is worth far more than rubies.”  (Proverbs 31:10)

I realize you are not all married.  I know that most of you are searching for the right fish in the sea.  My prayer for writing this is to help you for when you catch the right one.  If you already have a fish and are hooked, then it is my heart that you will take this Word and apply it to your life.  Begin to make one change at a time.  Then see how when you “clothe yourself with honor” that  joy, peace, and love will flow through your household, your relationships and your life.  You can put the perfect shade of lipstick on those lips, but if when they open the stench of ugliness blasts people in the face, no one will remember the shade of lipstick only the smell.

“She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.  She speaks with wisdom and faithful instruction is on her tongue.  She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.  Her children arise and call her blessed, her husband also and he praises her:  Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.  Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.  Give her the reward she has earned and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.”

Leave a Reply

