Sunblock? No sweat.


As a young teeny bopper, I loved laying out in the sun to get a tan.  Oh, yeah, baby I would get the oil out with little or no spf so that I could get the deepest, darkest tan this Cherokee Indian, Italian skin could get.  I loved for my tan to be noticed and I especially loved wearing white so it made my tan look even darker.  These days  -meaning in my thirties- I lather on the white coat of sunblock to help keep the harmful rays off my skin.  I do not need to age any faster than time is already moving.  Let me save the wrinkles and sun spots for a date later than age 32.  Yes, I apply sunblock and SPF 50 or 70 at that.  I am not so worried about a tan, though I like color, but rather protection.  But here is the kicker, I am still getting a tan!  All these years I thought sunblock would keep me well, pale white.   You know fair skinned.  However, I have found the complete opposite, even with my multiple applications of 50+spf sunblock, I am still tanned.  Who would have thunk it?

As I thought about this, God dropped this thought in my mind.  How many people apply SONblock because they do not want his rays to penetrate them?  Like, everyday they wake up and rationalize how God isn’t good, Jesus wasn’t the Messiah or he just doesn’t care about them.  You know these people.  You encounter them and if they know you are a Christian, well you really encounter them, because the first thing they want to do is corner you into a God conversation.  They do not use this tactic because they want to be exposed to the Son’s rays, but because they want to protect themselves from the exposure (what they view ) of harmful affects of the rays.  They have applied their SONblock.

But Jesus said, “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation.”  Matthew 16:15

That means to those wearing SONblock, too.  So do not sweat it if they have Sonblock on, the rays of light still penetrate and if you are Jesus’ light, shining like the stars, well you are sure to leave a marking on their life (whether they were looking for it or not.)  Just like me wearing my spf50 still gets this girls skin tanned.  The more exposure to the sun the more apt we are to turn from pale white to a golden tan; and in the same regard, the more exposure we have to the SON the more apt we are to see His goodness, mercy, grace and love!

Sunblock or Sonblock – don’t sweat it!

“You are the light of the world….. let your light shine before others so that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”  Matthew 5:14, 16

“Then you will shine among them like the stars in the sky….”  Philippians 2:15

Leave a Reply

