My Hands Are Full


Imagine yourself with your arms stretched out and hands opened.  Bags hanging on your arms weighing you down, hands that are full of keys, phones, little hands, even problems.  Looking at yourself in the mirror you see a person trying to handle all of life, but feeling tired and worn out from the “weight” of it all.  Your shoulders are slouched, knees are bent and that posture that was once easy to hold up, well… it is now hunched over.  Life never stops and the juggling of all the hats and bags of being who you are can definitely take its toll.

I personally understand all of this!  I am a wife, mother, employee, teacher of the Word, speaker, writer, house cleaner, boo boo kisser, book reader, primary cook, taxi driver and so forth.  There are so many roles that  I fulfill. I can look like one worn out mess on some mornings and nights.  I am also the daughter of a king and seek him and his will for my life.  When I say, Jesus I want to be all that you made me to be and I want to do all that you want me to do – and then I look in the mirror, I realize, I cannot do what I just asked.  Why?  Because my hands are full, my arms are heavy, my head is hurting and my eyes are tired.

Why is it that we feel we need to “juggle” life?  A juggler can never rest, if he rests then the pins that he once was keeping in the air will all fall to the ground.  The juggler’s job is to remain in motion and constantly moving as to not let any pins fall to the ground.  Do you feel like a juggler?  If you keep moving and go from role to role you can keep everything floating, but you are not doing anything to the best of your ability. Why?  Because too much time  focused on one  pin takes away from another and – SPLAT – it falls apart!  (I hope some lady friends are shouting AMEN with me right now!)

I do not believe Jesus wants me to be a juggler.  I believe Jesus wants me to take inventory of what is hanging on my arms and what I am holding in my hands.  After making the list and checking it twice, is there something that I should not be carrying?  Is there something that someone else can do better?  Is there something that I need to let go, because he is calling me to a new place and I cannot receive that without putting something down?

Taking inventory is not fun.  Matter of fact it is a lot of work, that is why at the stores you see extra employees at inventory time.  It can be an overwhelming task.  It is even more difficult for us in our humanness to let go and pass something that we have held onto, especially if it is something that we have always done.  However, we must remember that to everything there is a season and seasons do come and seasons do go (Ecclesiastes 3).

If you are wanting to move forward in your walk, but have just felt stuck, I challenge you to look at what you are holding.  Maybe you need to lay something down, because adding one more pin would cause all the juggling to stop and the pins would just hit the floor.  I can personally testify to having had too much in my hands at one time. There was a point in my walk where I thought I needed to do a lot and more.   I missed the whole idea of being focused on my purpose and what God has called me personally to do in my lifetime on this Earth.  As I have matured, I have learned this principle:  God knows my weight bearing.  He  knows the pressure that this gal can hold before it bends and breaks.

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all surpassing power is from God and not from us.  We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed but not abandoned; struck down but not destroyed. ”  2 Corinthians 4:7-9

When my hands are full I cannot accept the next thing from God.  When I was juggling life, I was not able to fulfill my purpose to the best of my ability, because so much effort and time was focused on keeping everything from hitting the floor.  Truth is, I hit the floor along with everything that had been juggled in my life.   When my eyes were focused on juggling, they were not focused on God.

I do not know where you are in life, personally, but I can tell you this.  God created you for a purpose.  God created you to accomplish it on this earth.  Take inventory of your life and all that you are doing… what is helping you to fulfill the purpose and plan for your life?  What is taking time, effort and attention away from that?  Is there something that you need to let go, so that your hands are not so full, thus allowing you to focus on doing well on the one thing that God has called you to do?

The less we are holding the more focused we can be.  Tunnel your attention on God, hear his voice, trust in his word and abide by his ways.  He will not direct your path wrong.

In the book of Ephesians, Paul sends Tychicus to the church of Ephesus saying this, “I have sent him to you for this very PURPOSE….” Ephesians 6:22

Be intentional to accomplish what God has sent you to do,  for His very PURPOSE.

“So we make it our goal to please him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it.  For we must all appear before the judgement seat of Christ that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad.”  2 Corinthians 5:9-10

Leave a Reply

