Hurt but not Broken


Have you ever gone to a “scratch -n- dent” sale?  Sometimes you will see items at a store reduced in cost, because it has a ding, scratch, scuff or dent.  Or if you have been to a kitchenware store, especially at an outlet store, they will have “rejected” pieces of pots, pans, dishes that have a mild defect and they send them to outlets to clearance and remove from their storefront shelves that hold the shiny, primed to sale pieces.  Maybe you have gone to a second hand store better known as a second selection store.  You find clothing, house ware, garden essentials, shoes, toys to sheets and towels!  Some things may have a small tear, a seam coming detached or have nothing wrong from the naked eye. I was thinking about a thought over the past few weeks and trying to wrap this brunette brain around it.  This thought dropped in my head, “Why do people act like they are broken when they are only hurt… or should I say scratched or dinged or dented?”  I have been hurt on multiple occasions, so this blog speaks directly to my heart and mind as much if not more than it might speak to you.

What are our tendencies when we are hurt by someone?

  • to withdraw from the crowd, lay low
  • cry, but many only do so when they are alone
  • some become angry and allow their hurt to spew onto innocent people

When my children hurt, though, they run straight to me.  They do not go in a closet and cry when they are hurt.  If they fall and scrape a knee and have a scratch, they come straight for mommy or daddy.  Yet, as adults, we run completely from our father…at least at first?  Our immediate reaction is not always to hit our knees and cry to our daddy in heaven… often we hold it in, then our spouse later will hear about it or a friend, but we just do not run to Abba Father.  My children know that when they are hurt, I will help them.  My children know that if they have a wound, I will nurse it.  My children know, if they need serious medical attention, I will take them to receive it.  My children know, that I will never leave them and do all I can to provide for their need.  Yet, I, their mother, will look internally and not upwardly (not always, but more than I care to admit) to find solutions or if I can just tuck it away, it will eventually scar over and no one will know.

What I have found is that wounds from when I was a child that I never dealt with have influenced my reactions as an adult.  Those untreated wounds have never healed.  Answers that I really needed to insults that were hurled were never received and the constant questions about why and what stir in my mind.  Oh, Jesus, how I need to run to you…. how you already know what I need as soon as I let loose the words.  You are the provider.  You are the One True God.  You have created all and supply all.

“And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 4:19

My hurts are like dents in a pot or scratches in a car.  I was born without hurts.  I was born without rejection.  I was born with love.  I was created with purpose.  Life happened.  In life, dings, dents, scratches marked me up.  But here is the truth, “I am not broken.”  Dented, scarred and battered I am still able to be used by God.  When something new gets its first scratch, we do not toss it out to the garbage?  We are not happy that the item has it, but we do not simply discard it either.  I remember my husband, of only a few weeks, bought our first television.  He loved this television.  We bought it just in time to watch the first Pittsburgh Steelers game of the season.  About 3 months later, we were moving out of our apartment and into our first home.  As the television of only 3 months was being maneuvered and carried down a flight of stairs, the top casing of the television was scratched, well a large dent/scratch was permanently carved into the gray plastic.  Was the hubby disappointed? Absolutely.  Was he upset?  You bet.  But, he did not say let us throw it away and buy a new one!  No, the television still worked.  It still had value.  It could still complete the purpose for which it was intended.

Friends, that is us!  I do not know if you are getting it, but I am!  My hurts do not deplete my value.  My hang ups do not define if I am still “usable.”  I do not dismiss what evidently has hurt.  I cannot hide the dings and scratches,  but I can accept them.  I can identify them and I can overcome them and see past them.  When I look at our television, that after eight years has been replaced  in our main living room and has now been moved to the basement,  I do not think about the initial shock of what happened.  I often do not even notice it, but I do still use the television; much like I use the pots and pans that I have had for ten years.  They have their share of mark ups, but I do not toss them out, because they are not shiny, nope, they still serve their purpose!

I may be hurt, but I am not broken.
I may be hurt, but I am not less valuable.
I may be hurt, but I have purpose!

Moses had a scratch and he knew it.  His scratch was a speech impediment.

“Moses said to the LORD, “O Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”  Exodus 4:10

Do you remember what God said?

“The LORD said to him, “Who gave man his mouth? Who makes him deaf or mute? Who gives him sight or makes him blind? Is it not I, the LORD?” Exodus 4:11

God created you.  He is not finished with you.  Scratched and dented, dinged and all – he wants to use you.  You may have been hurt and have a “scar” from it, but it does not disqualify you from use.  Yes, we are hurt, but no, we are not broken.

Leave a Reply

