Can I just press “RESET?”


I do not know about you, but there are days, sometimes even weeks when I just want to hit the reset button and start all over.  Everything that could go wrong, went wrong.  Every word that came out of my mouth was not pleasing to God and thoughts, emotions and anxiety were at a heightened peak.  Can I get a witness?  If I could only press reset and start again?

I was thinking about those exact thoughts: how relationships can easily become tensed because of a person’s lack of communication or misunderstanding or how a word or action can feel like getting hit with a sledge hammer.  The outcome is not what you truly desired,  but “WHAM!” it is what it is and you just wish you could go back and start over.

We will say things like, “Let’s wipe the slate clean and let us start over.”  But here is what I think we fail to realize: When we say “Let’s start over,” we think we can go back to right before the ‘incident’ and everything will be fine and dandy.  Yet, the reality is starting over is almost like going back to, “…from the beginning.”  How?  When you have to hit “reset” on a router for the computer or any machine equipment, it goes back to “factory settings,” which is the way the device was when it was purchased, the default mode.  It is the same thing in life.  When we are hurt or we hurt someone, though we say “Let’s start over, ” we are not going back to the “restore mode,” but are rather going back to the beginning – relearning to trust, figuring out how to communicate and sift through emotions, thoughts, etc.  It is like back to the basics of rebuilding a friendship.

This time (the second time through) can be different if we make the effort to do it.  The first time you have something new you have to learn to maneuver, download and add things to the relationship.  After resetting, you are a step ahead because there are some things that you know:  their personality, their thought patterns, their love language, their ideas and outlooks on life, etc.  Ground can quickly be made, if effort and genuineness is persevering.

Pushing reset sounds good and might even seem good.  There may even be some situations where it is good.  Just remember though, resets can take more work than a simple push of the button.  Sometimes we have to restore as well.  I might wipe the computer clean (reset it) back to its original condition, but I will have to work to download the programs and install the software needed to have the computer functioning the way that it was before the “mishap.”

Be encouraged.  Resetting is possible and attainable and sometimes necessary, although it may not be enjoyable.

Sometimes, my heart needs a reset button.  I have to erase and wipe out feelings of jealousy, guilt, shame, disappointments and bitterness.  Thankfully, I have a Savior who helps me through this.  When I invite him to join me in my “clean up” mode, resetting the things that line my heart, I can do all things (Philippians 4:13).

The Bible says, “Create in me a clean heart O God and renew a right Spirit in me.” (Psalm 51:10)

When I ask, I shall receive.  When I seek, I shall find. When I knock, the door will be opened (Matthew 7:7).   These are not things that are only given to the elite of the elite.  This is for everyone.  Jesus, my heart is full of clutter and things that are stained, broken and hurt.  Can you come in and help me sweep them out and replace them?  Hit the reset button with me and walk with me as I work to restore it to the condition that you intend for it to be.

If I am angry, I need to go out in the world, find someone and show kindness.

If I am greedy, I need to go and give something away.

What is the opposite of what you have withdrawn from your heart after the “reset?”  Go out and do it, apply and then allow the deposit of your actions to reside in your heart.  That my friends is a practical way to furnish your heart.

You say, my heart is broken and it needs mended.  Jesus will stitch it back together and seal it, because:

 “Before anything was created, he was already there. He holds everything together.” Colossians 1:17

Do not be discouraged, remember we “all fall short.”  Mistakes happen.  Regretful words spew out of our mouths.  But, we can redeem our wrong and make things right with simple words such as “I’m sorry,” followed by actions that show our genuineness that we truly are.  Do you need to hit the reset button in one of your relationships? Has one of the signals been lost or the communication been deferred by mixed signals?  Decide today to wipe the slate clean and begin to take steps to restore it to its original intended condition.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.”  Psalm 32:8

Leave a Reply

