Key#1: Right Thinking


“Be careful what you think, because thoughts run your life!”  Proverbs 4:23

Your attitude determines your altitude.  I have heard that saying throughout my life.  We are either an Eeyore and hanging our head low, looking down to the ground and just are “ho hum” about stuff in life or we are soaring like an eagle.  We are looking ahead towards the prize (the goal) and maintaining our strength, telling ourselves, “I can do this! I can do this!”

“For as a man thinks in his heart, so is he.”  Proverbs 23:7

How we think, affects how we speak.  It affects our “self-talk.”  We either will convince ourselves we can do something or we will tell ourselves we can’t do something because we are not good enough, inadequate or ill-equipped.  What you speak aloud is either life or death.  You will either slaughter yourself before you try and won’t try or convince yourself to give up before you ever push through.  Speaking life means you say things in your mind and out loud that encourages you throughout life.  One of my key verses for right thinking is, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13).  

Let me define a key word for us, consume.  Consume means to eat, ingest, take in, or buy into.  When you are consuming negative thoughts, it will affect your life, because that is what you are ingesting, taking in and buying into.  Your negative thoughts will convince you that you are not good enough, pretty enough, smart enough, clever enough, strong enough and so forth.  What we are consuming can convince us to not even try let alone give up.  We may even say, “Someone else can do it better.”

I can remember a time in high school when I was extremely discouraged while playing softball my junior year.  I was a second basemen.  I was going through a serious bout of “discouragement.”  The conversations in my mind were low.  I convinced myself I was the worst second basemen ever.  That I did not deserve to play, let alone be on the team.  As a result, I made errors and did not play my best.  Matter of fact, I moved to right field just to get out of the infield.  But then something happened, I made a few plays that were good and my confidence began to grow.  I realized that I was not “bad” that I was good.  That reality flipped the flop of my thinking and changed the way that I played the game.  That can be true for you too!  If you are struggling and feeling down in the dumps, take inventory of what you are thinking and speaking because that is a direct reflection of what is happening in your life.

There is life and death in the tongue. (Proverbs 18:21)

Our thinking dictates or we could say “directs” our moods, our reactions and even our maturity in our walk with Jesus.  The reality is our ultimate purpose according to James 1:4 is to become a mature Christian.  One way to do that is by pressing on towards what is ahead.  If we are not moving forward and progressing, we need to stop and ask ourselves a tough question:  Are we maturing?

Selah.

When we have “Stinking Thinking” if will affect our maturity (our growth).  As a matter of fact, I would go out on a limb and say that negative thinking stunts our growth.

Beloved, take a minute and remember that God knitted you together and formed you in your mother’s womb (Psalm 139:13), God has plans to prosper us not to harm us to give us a hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11); he engraved us on the palm of his hand (Isaiah 43:6).

One of the keys to a blessed life, a healthy life (Proverbs 4:22) is to carry the key of right thinking! Exchange the “stinking thinking” key and pick up the one with positive thinking, biblical direction and begin cruising on the path that God has laid out before you.  Using the key of right thinking will help you to guard your heart and spur your maturity as a child of God.

2 thoughts on “Key#1: Right Thinking

  1. Pingback: Key #2: Honesty « Michelle Georgiana

  2. Pingback: Key#4: Morals and Values « Michelle Georgiana

Leave a Reply

