Out of the Mouth of Babes


They asked Jesus, “Do you hear what these children are saying?” “Yes,” Jesus replied. “Haven’t you ever read the Scriptures? For they say, ‘You have taught children and infants to give you praise.”  Matthew 21:6

As I read this scripture, I could not help but reflect on how many times, God has used my children as an instrument of His Word.  From living their lives out loud for Jesus to sharing His Word with others.  It has been an awe-struck experience on many occasions.

Today is my oldest child’s, Samuel, birthday.  He is nine years old.  Time surely flies.  I can remember finding out I was pregnant and holding him for the very first time.  But when I reflect on the life of Samuel, what I hold on to most is God’s promise for his life and what he is already doing in Samuel’s life.Image

When Samuel was 3 years old, he had awoken from a nap and brought to the kitchen table for a late Sunday afternoon lunch (or early dinner).  As he was quietly sitting there, his little mouth opened and he said, “Mom, guess what Jesus told me?”  As any mom or dad would do, I responded while my hubby listened, “What honey?” excitedly expecting he had learned something that morning.

Let me preface it with this:  It was a Sunday afternoon.  We had church service that morning and he was in a preschool Sunday school class.  I am expecting to hear what he learned about today in his class.

Samuel, responded, “Jesus told me I am getting a baby sister.”

As I choked on the piece of steak  I was chewing and my husband spit out water, I said lovingly, “Oh, no honey, mommy and daddy are not having any more babies.  We have you and your brother and we don’t think we need anymore children.”

Samuel went on eating and nothing more was said or thought of this conversation.  I figured someone else was pregnant in the church and they were having a baby, so Samuel, at age 3, just figured it was his mommy too, because that must be what mommies do.

6 weeks passed and well, that special time never came.  Our test came back positive and yep, we were expecting a baby.  Samuel insisted Jesus told him it was a girl.   He believed it with all his heart.  Me, however, I doubted it would be a girl, I was two for two on boys. I prepared Samuel’s heart the weeks leading up to the ultrasound to find out the sex of the baby, that the baby could possibly be another brother.

Sadly, I never gripped the promise and believed it wholeheartedly, that Jesus wanted to give Samuel and his brother a sister and us, daughter.  I doubted.  Samuel believed.  God held to the word he spoke to and through Samuel, we were having a baby girl.

Pretty cool, huh?  To be a three year old who hears the voice of Jesus, shares it and believes it, never doubting.  At age three, we believe our mommies and daddies, because they look out for us and know what is best for us.  We do not doubt their intentions.  Mommy at age twenty-eight, doubted and did not believe what was spoken was true.  How guilty are many of us for not believing something God spoke to us whether through a dream, another person or the Word?  Oh, hearts, why do you let us forget what our God Almighty, Master, Savior has spoken?  That he intends to prosper us, not harm us, give us hope and future (Jer. 29:11) that he fulfills his promises as we obey him!

That is not all that Samuel spoke that particular year.

On a different afternoon, Samuel awoke from a nap and said, “Guess what Mommy?”  With my eyes dancing at my precious son and the corners of my mouth lifted in a heartwarming smile, I replied, “What honey?”  Samuel said, “Jesus told me that we are going to call my sister, ‘Princess!”  I chuckled and lovingly said as I brushed his thick brown hair as he sat on my lap,” Oh, honey, we might call her our princess, but we are not naming her princess.”  Samuel looked up at me and said, “Jesus said so.” Then jumped off my lap and went about playing with his toys.

Later we went to my mother’s house for a visit and my grandmother called.  She told me she either had a dream or in her prayer time had heard God speak about my baby girl in womb.  Her words were that I was to name the baby Sarah.  I quickly went to the computer and searched the internet for the meaning of the name.  Would you believe my eyes when I read, “Princess.”

Today, I celebrate my son, Samuel’s ninth birthday.  He has been a delightful joy to raise.  I am proud of the young man he is becoming and honored to watch all that God is doing in his life from the time of his birth.  This story is just one of the many of God working in his life.  What better way to celebrate him than to share something God has done through him.  I look forward to watching him run the race that God has laid out before him and cheering him on along the way.

” I press on toward the goal unto the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 3:14

3 thoughts on “Out of the Mouth of Babes

  1. Wow God! An amazing testimony in just the beginning of this Godly young man! Happy Birthday Samuel! My prayer for you today is that you hold onto your childlike faith for the remainder of your life! And continue to follow the path that He has laid before you!

Leave a Reply

